The Hüxstraße –
A rich history!
ntil the city walls were taken down in the 19th century, the
Huxstrasse (Hux Street) – originally named as Huestrate after
a town mayor in 1259 – ended at the street “An der Mauer” (At the
Wall Street) next to Hüxtertor (Hüx Tower – demolished in 1822).
There were 9 alley ways, 2 of which are still visible today. The poo-
rer, lower classes lived here – craftsmen, soldiers and small busi-
ness owners. In 1864 the first cobbled stones and narrow asphalt
footpaths were laid. During the 19th and 20th centuries a tramline
ran through the street and on towards the eastern suburbs. A row
of buildings in the lower part of the street were destroyed during
the 2nd world war.
side from a few larger buildings built during the 19th and 20th
centuries, the majority of narrow, gabled buildings were er-
ected prior to the 19th century. Many of these buildings have, at
various times, undergone “modernisation” in various styles. Recent
renovations also compliment the street’s original style quite well.
The majority of buildings are world heritage listed. The backyards
are usually home to smaller buildings, and the courtyards are of-
ten used as gardens. Anecdotally, Hüxstrasse got its name from
“Verhökern“ (of the old northern German “Platt” language), and ori-
ginally meant “The Höker (merchants) on the Huk (the Horn of the
Wakenitz river – where Lübeck is situated)”. The “Hökerstrasse”
(now Hüxstrasse’s) reputation for excellent service reaches back
many decades indeed!